Skip to main content

Clinical Nurse Specialist Foundation, Inc.

Enhancing Health Care's Future
Donate to CNSF
Board of Trustees
Scholarship Winners
Student Poster Awards
Donor Recognition
Contact Us
CNS Foundation, Inc.

Our Mission
The Clinical Nurse Specialist Foundation (CNS Foundation) is organized to carry out the charitable,  educational and scientific purposes of the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists.  In 2003, the NACNS Board of Directors approved the establishment of the CNS foundation to:
  • Advance nursing science through nursing scholarship and research
  • Disseminate nursing knowledge and evidence based practice within the three
        spheres of CNS influence - Patient/Client, Nursing Personnel and Organization/Network
  • Educate the public about the unique contribution of the clinical nurse
        specialist within health care delivery services
  • Support professional development of Clinical Nurse Specialists
  • Preserve the history of Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice


Click here to download a pdf version of the CNS Foundation Brochure


 Contributions & Sponsorships


In order to further our mission, the CNS Foundation is seeking contributions from corporations, foundations and individuals who can help increase the number of CNSs to care for patients and the number of qualified CNS nurse faculty to educate CNSs for this and the next generation.



The CNS Foundation is now accepting applications for the following Scholarships:


Jan Bingle Scholarship


Katie Brush Memorial Scholarship


Christine Filipovich Scholarship


Submission deadline is
January 31, 2014


Click here for
eligibility, information and applications


Two CNS Foundation Board Members

Honored by the American Academy of Nursing


The CNS Foundation Board of Trustees is proud to announce that two of its members have been selected by the American Academy of Nursing to become Fellows.   Kathleen Baldwin and Sue Sendelbach will be officially inducted along with 170 other nurse leaders during the Academy's 40th annual meeting on October 19, 2013, in Washington, DC. 


Selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current Academy Fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed Fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing careers influenced health policies and the heath and wellbeing of all. New Fellows will be eligible to use the credentials FAAN (Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing) after their induction in October.





The Clinical Nurse Specialist Foundation, through the generosity of Nurses Service Organization, has awarded scholarships to the three top student posters presented at the 2013 NACNS conference.


Click here for more information about the 2013 Student Poster Award winners